FIFA World Cup 2022 | Teams in round of 16, schedule and how it works

FIFA World Cup 2022: The teams play each other just once during the FIFA World Cup knockout stage, with the victor moving on to the next round. There are four rounds altogether: the Round of 16, quarterfinals, semifinals, and final, which will occur on December 18.

A third-place playoff is also held between the losers of the semifinals.


FIFA World Cup 2022
FIFA World Cup 2022 (Photo Credit: Reuters)

In any of these games, if the scores are tied at the conclusion of regular play, a 30-minute overtime is played in two periods of 15 minutes each. In the event that the score remains tied, a 5-penalty shootout is used to decide the winner.


Teams that qualified

GROUP A: The Netherlands won against the hosts Qatar and the African champions Senegal to advance to the round of 16, finishing first in Group A despite drawing 1-1 with Ecuador. The defending champions of Africa lost their opening match of the World Cup to the Netherlands, but they quickly turned things around with victories over Ecuador and Qatar (3-1 and 2-1, respectively).
GROUP B: England, who finished first in Group B with 7 points after crushing victories over Wales and Iran and a scoreless draw with the United States, punched their ticket to the knockout round. After drawing with Wales and England and defeating Iran 1-0 in a game overshadowed by political unrest, the United States earned second place in Group B.
GROUP C: After an unexpected loss to Saudi Arabia in their opening match, Argentina recovered to take the top spot in Group C with victories over Mexico and Poland. Australia will be their next opponent on Saturday. Poland finished second in Group C, earning a spot in the round of 16, after defeating Saudi Arabia, drawing with Mexico, and losing to Argentina. On Sunday they meet France.
GROUP D: With victories over Australia and Denmark in a row in Group D, followed by a 1-0 loss to Tunisia, the defending champions France lived up to expectations and became the first team to advance to the round of 16. With victories over Tunisia and Denmark, Australia finished second in Group D and earned a spot in the round of 16. On Saturday, they will play Argentina.
GROUP E: After pulling off two incredible comeback victories over Germany and Spain, the Samurai Blue advanced as the surprising Group E winner, losing only to Costa Rica. On Monday, they will play Croatia. Spain easily defeated Costa Rica before drawing with Germany and losing to Japan to secure its place in the round of 16. On Tuesday, they will meet with Morocco.
GROUP F:  After a scoreless draw with Croatia and victories against Canada and Belgium, Morocco took first place in Group F. On Tuesday, they will play Spain. Croatia advanced to the round of 16 after defeating Canada 4-1, drawing 0-0 twice with Morocco, and 0-0 again with Belgium. On Monday, they have a match against Japan. Brazil advanced to the next round of the tournament with victories against Switzerland and Serbia before falling to Cameroon 1-0. On Monday, they will play South Korea. With victories over Serbia (3-2) and Cameroon (1-0), Switzerland finished second in Group G and will face Portugal on Tuesday.
GROUP G: Portugal lost to South Korea in the final game of Group H, but they still finished first and will play Switzerland on Tuesday. Following a scoreless draw with Uruguay and a loss to Ghana, South Korea secured entry to the knockout stage with a last-second victory over already-qualified Portugal.

Date, fixture and venue for the knockout stage

December 3: Netherlands vs. Khalifa United States International Stadium,

December 4: Argentina vs. Australia Ahmad bin Ali Stadium, France vs. Poland, Al Thumama Stadium

December 5: England vs. Senegal Al Bayt Stadium, Japan vs. Croatia Al Janoub Stadium,

December 6: Brazil vs. South Korea Stadium 974, Morocco vs. Spain Education City Stadium

December 7: Portugal vs. Switzerland Lusail Iconic Stadium

December 9: Quarter-final 1 Lusail Iconic Stadium,

December 10: Quarter-final 2 Education City Stadium, Quarter-final 3 Al Bayt Stadium

December 11: Quarter-final 4 Al Thumama Stadium

December 14: Semi-final 1 Lusail Iconic Stadium

December 15: Semi-final 2 Al Bayt Stadium

December 17: Third place Khalifa playoff International Stadium

December 18: Final Lusail Iconic Stadium

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *